‘The Zone of Interest,’ ‘Fallen Leaves’ Lead European Film Awards Race – TechVerdant


Jonathan Glazer’s “The Zone of Interest” and Aki Kaurismäki’s “Fallen Leaves” led the European Film Awards race after nominations for the major categories were revealed Tuesday.

The films were nominated in all five major categories – European film, director, screenwriter, actor and actress.

Justine Triet’s “Anatomy of a Fall” was close behind with four nominations – film, director, screenwriter and actress.

Agnieszka Holland’s “Green Border” took three nominations – film, director and screenwriter.

“Me Captain” and “The Teachers’ Lounge” each nabbed two nominations.

“Afire,” “Blackbird Blackbird Blackberry,” “How to Have Sex,” “La Chimera” and “The Promised Land” took one nomination each in major categories.

Special mention should go to Sandra Hüller, who was nominated twice for best actress – for “Anatomy of a Fall” and “The Zone of Interest.”

The documentary nominees were “Apolonia, Apolonia,” “Four Daughters,” “Motherland,” On the Adamant” and “Smoke Sauna Sisterhood.”

The nominations are based on the votes of the 4,600 members of the European Film Academy.

The Academy also revealed the nominations for the European Discovery category, which was selected by FIPRESCI, the international federation of film critics. The nominated films were “20,000 Species of Bees,” “How to Have Sex,” “La Palisiada,” “Safe Place,” “The Quiet Migration” and “Vincent Must Die.”

The Academy members will now vote for the winners for all categories, who will be revealed at the awards ceremony on Dec. 9 in Berlin.

The nominations were announced in a video by teenagers from across Europe, all members of the newly launched European Film Club.

These are the 2023 nominees:

European Film:

  • “Anatomy of a Fall” (Anatomie D’une Chute), directed by Justine Triet, produced by Marie-Ange Luciani and David Thion (France)
  • “Fallen Leaves” (Kuolleet Lehdet), directed by Aki Kaurismäki, produced by Aki Kaurismäki, Misha Jaari, Mark Lwoff and Reinhard Brundig (Finland, Germany)
  • “Green Border” (Zielona Granica), directed by Agnieszka Holland, produced by Marcin Wierzchosławski, Fred Bernstein and Agnieszka Holland (Poland, France, Czech Republic, Belgium)
  • “Me Captain” (Io Capitano), directed by Matteo Garrone, produced by Matteo Garrone, Paolo Del Brocco, Ardavan Safaee and Joseph Rouschop (Italy, Belgium)
  • “The Zone of Interest,” directed by Jonathan Glazer, produced by James Wilson and Ewa Puszczyńska (U.K., Poland, U.S.)

European Director:

  • Justine Triet for “Anatomy of a Fall”
  • Aki Kaurismäki for “Fallen Leaves”
  • Agnieszka Holland for “Green Border”
  • Matteo Garrone for “Me Captain”
  • Jonathan Glazer for “The Zone of Interest”

European Screenwriter:

  • Justine Triet and Arthur Harari for “Anatomy of a Fall”
  • Aki Kaurismäki for “Fallen Leaves”
  • Maciej Pisuk, Gabriela Łazarkiewicz-Sieczko and Agnieszka Holland for “Green Border”
  • İlker Çatak and Johannes Duncker for “The Teachers’ Lounge”
  • Jonathan Glazer for “The Zone of Interest”

European Actress:

  • Sandra Hüller in “Anatomy of a Fall”
  • Eka Chavleishvili in “Blackbird Blackbird Blackberry”
  • Alma Pöysti in “Fallen Leaves”
  • Mia Mckenna-Bruce in “How to Have Sex”
  • Leonie Benesch in “The Teachers’ Lounge”
  • Sandra Hüller in “The Zone of Interest”

European Actor:

  • Thomas Schubert in “Afire”
  • Jussi Vatanen in “Fallen Leaves”
  • Josh O’Connor in “La Chimera”
  • Mads Mikkelsen in “The Promised Land”
  • Christian Friedel in “The Zone of Interest”

European Documentary:

  • “Apolonia, Apolonia,” directed by Lea Glob (Denmark, Poland)
  • “Four Daughters” (Les Filles D’olfa), directed by Kaouther Ben Hania (France, Tunisia, Germany, Saudi Arabia)
  • “Motherland,” directed by Hanna Badziaka and Alexander Mihalkovich (Sweden, Ukraine, Norway)
  • “On the Adamant” (Sur L’adamant), directed by Nicolas Philibert (France, Japan)
  • “Smoke Sauna Sisterhood” (Savvusanna Sõsarad), directed by Anna Hints (Estonia, France, Iceland)

European Discovery – Prix Fipresci:

  • “20,000 Species of Bees” (20.000 Especies De Abejas), directed by Estibaliz Urresola Solaguren (Spain)
  • “How to Have Sex,” directed by Molly Manning Walker (U.K., Greece)
  • “La Palisiada” (Ля Палісіада), directed by Philip Sotnychenko (Ukraine)
  • “Safe Place” (Sigurno Mjesto), directed by Juraj Lerotić (Croatia, Slovenia)
  • “The Quiet Migration” (Stille Liv), directed by Malene Choi (Denmark)
  • “Vincent Must Die” (Vincent Doit Mourir), directed by Stéphan Castang (France, Belgium)


Previous articleWho is rapper Future’s ex-girlfriend Joie Chavis? Net Worth, Baby – TechVerdant
Next articleHow to Watch UEFA Champions League for FREE in Greece – TechVerdant


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here